Guest Reviews

(South Africa) Thivhudziswi | 28 August 2017

“We had a great stay at Fire Thorn and Sycamore Cottages. It was clean and the garden well cut.”


(South Africa) Kabelo | 14 August 2017

“My weekend was perfect. I love Fire Thorn and I would definitely come back again and I am planning to come back again for a week this time around. “


(South Africa) anonymous | 17 July 2017

“We enjoyed our stay at Fire Thorn. The fact that our bed lamps and outside light were already on, makes us feel welcome. Linen and towels were fresh. Lots of space. The view from the patio is peaceful as well as the pool. We enjoyed our four legged visitors, the “meerkatte”. It was nice to hear their noises as well as the pheasants. The aloe’s were in full bloom, makes nice photo’s. As from the first gate up to all of the staff, all of them are friendly. We will visit again. Thank you for having us “


(South Africa) Hunadi | 26 May 2017

“Our stay at Fire Thorn and Sycamore Cottages was absolutely amazing to say the least. We stayed at the Coral Tree Cottage. Reception at the gate by the Hulala security staff set a positive tone and made us feel like royalty. The place was breathtakingly beautiful. The cottage was neat, warm and well equipped. The view was stunning and calming at the same time. Our stay was a pleasurable experience and we plan on returning in the very near future.”


(South Africa) Jaco | 25 May 2017

“We had a self-catering cottage which was well equipped, close to all amenities and just what we needed. We will revisit.”

(South Africa) Luu | 6 January 2017

“The place has got beautiful views. There was two patios and you can chose to sit on any patio whenever you felt like relaxing and admire your surroundings. They also had three televisions in three different rooms and you could watch TV in any room. That was one of the things I loved about the place. It’s really a very nice place to relax.”

 by Verna M
Lovely relaxing stay. Lovely forrested area with lovely view of the dam from the deck. Will definitely go back. The cottage is spacious enough not to feel cramped with 8 adults. Three bedrooms (two en-suite) in the main house and an outside room with en-suite toilet and shower. Grandchildren enjoyed the pool. Satellite tv with all channels available as well as a dvd player, so the children weren’t bored when it rained on the Friday. Fully equipped kitchen with cutlery, crockery, glassware, electric frying pan, pots, potjie pot, slow cooker, enough dishcloths, etc. Hairdryer and baby bath ring in the master bathroom. Towels are provided. Trustworthy services of Lotricia, the lady who comes in to clean daily. Resort staff come in daily to check the pool, empty the bins and clean the braai stand, so basically all the hassle of being at home has been removed. Big deck with built in braai, 2 seating areas, one side with a long rectangular table where we enjoyed most of our meals with the view of the dam, and the other side with a round table where we snacked and had drinks. Did the sunset cruise around the dam. Had drinks at Hulala Resort’s bar on the way back from the cruise. Children went paddle boating on the dam almost daily at an additional cost of R50 for lifejackets. Mongooses and Monkeys came to visit daily. The panorama route is scenic, drove to all the local attractions, Kruger National Park, God’s Window, Pinnacle Point, Sabie Falls, caves, etc. Friendly guard at first gate when entering, who performs a great salute and march greeting when you enter and leave.
5 of 5 stars14 Mar 2017Reviewed by sizas2017
we had a great time there, the peace and tranquility amazing. the cleanliness of the rooms and the service we received was out of this world. the amazing splash pools that comes with the cottages. wont mind going there again with family this time
5 of 5 stars27 Mar 2017 Reviewed by joanettev2017
Accommodation was excellent with the most amazing view. The bird life is wonderful and the whole family enjoyed the stay. We had the most relaxing time at the pool and enjoyed the view from the deck. Will most definitely return.
5 of 5 stars by thanyanivictorm
great location, great view and well kept. i wish i could have spent more time at the cottage to enjoy the the view and for kids to swim. bad we had to spend more time out side. this location was central to all the sites i needed to visit.
5 of 5 stars5 Mar 2017Reviewed by 982juliettem
We stayed at Hook Thorn from 24 – 26 Feburary, 2017 Was a fantastic break – our accommodation was even better than imagined. Very tastefully decorated and the private pool was a treat Lizel was very accommodating Will definitely be back soon
 by zintlem2017
The entire place is beautiful and peaceful. We really enjoyed our stay , as a result it felt so short. We were very sad to leave. How ever, kindly replace the bed at the main bedroom L18, the bed is finished, apart from that, there is nothing I needed I didn’t get. The kids absolutely enjoyed the army salute and march from the very friendly security guy at the last gate of exit, absolute A class and 5 star resort . Thank you for helping us create beautiful memories

“Enjoyable and Satisfying”

(South Africa)Johan | 25 April 2017

“What I like the most staying there is the fact that you have lots of privacy and no disturbance of staff or other guests. The accommodation is up to standard, properly maintained and all facilities is functional. This place is a perfect getaway if you looking forward to privacy and tranquillity.”


“Lovely Place”

(South Africa) cheryl | 13 February 2017

“I loved the quietness and the isolation of the place. The accommodation was great, it was nicely equipped and clean. I will go back and can recommend the place to anyone.”



“Great Stay”

(South Africa) Dominacia | 14 December 2016

“The environment was quiet and peaceful. The service was great and my room was beautiful. Everything looked exactly like it was advertised and I got what I expected. I would go back any day and already have recommended the place to friends.”


“Very Enjoyable”

(South Africa) Lerato | 28 October 2016

“The houses were very neat and beautiful. What I liked about the place was the atmosphere and the location itself. The service was excellent and also the security guards was very friendly. I was very happy with my stay.”



“Splendid Time”

(South Africa) Luu | 6 January 2017

“The place has got beautiful views. There was two patios and you can chose to sit on any patio whenever you felt like relaxing and admire your surroundings. They also had three televisions in three different rooms and you could watch TV in any room. That was one of the things I loved about the place. It’s really a very nice place to relax.”


oh my gosh where do I begin, I’m so in in love with this place, so far I’ve been there for the third time and it still feels amazing. I have decided to make it my every year holiday home so next year I’m coming back. the house is fully equipped and I love the fact that the DSTV has all channels unlike other places, keep it up, Liezel.Refilwe November 2016

We had a pleasant stay at these beautiful cottages. The rooms where nice and neat. Good communication from Lizel (Manager). The cottages are in a secure area. Security guards at the gate where very thorough and friendly. I would highly recommend this place and I’d definitely come back. Lerato October 2016
Perfect place for a break. The resort is situated next to a dam in a nature reserve. From the R40 road about ten minute drive for the last 2 kilometers on a beautiful winding road in nature. The resort looks good but we did not get an opportunity to use the resort facilities as our stay was too short. The rooms were excellent with great beds and linen. Fully fitted kitchen with automatic washing mashine which came in handy. The resort is not close to shops etc, thus take everything with you. The kids were in the pool most of the time and enjoyed the stay. We will return in future and use some of the resort facilities. Some reviews mentioned vehicle noise from the road. We were not bothered by the limited noise from vehicles during daylight hours. At night the road was quite. Next visit we will do the hiking trails and fishing. Dirk P October 2016
Beautiful & comfortable units to stay with family & friends. What was shown on the advert was exactly what we experienced during our stay. The private splash pool kept the family cool through the hot weather. George  October 2017
Best family outing with lovely views. The owner very understanding. Generally the place is very quiet. We had a minor problem with the other guest making noise but it was quickly sorted. Best value for money. Owens. September 2016
Beautiful view of nature from the front of cottage, calm and safe place to stay with family/couple, excellent services and facilities provided. Loved my stay with family for 2 nights and would love to come back and refer more friends and colleaguesS Jain September 2016
The place is nice and clean, great view from the cottage, private pool and good location to visit Kruger Park or the panorama route. Rooms are big and the kitchen and Braai area are really nice. Good value for money!

The place is nice and clean, great view from the cottage, private pool and good location to visit Kruger Park or the panorama route. Rooms are big and the kitchen and Braai area are really nice. Good value for money!-JC July 2016

The place is nice and clean, great view from the cottage, private pool and good location to visit Kruger Park or the panorama route. Rooms are big and the kitchen and Braai area are really nice. Good value for money!Claudia August 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Firethorn cottage and wish we had booked to stay longer! It is set in the most beautiful surroundings and is very handy for the panoramic route/ White River and Hazyview.It is a short walk to Holula Lodge where you can go for drinks or have a bite to eat for a very reasonable price.The cottage is very clean and is very well equipped. The owner has thought of every eventuality! There is a baby bath seat, board games etc..I hope to go back soon and would recommend other travellers visit this beautiful area.– HM United Kingdom July 2016

Fire thorn and sycamore cottages is the best vacation place to visit, the cottage is clean and very beautiful, the rooms are exceptional and very homely. The view is magnificent and the service is very good. The fire thorn and sycamore website does not lie because the cottages are exactly as you see them on the website. My friends and I are definitely going back next year.-MP April 2016

This is our second visit to the cottages. The first time we stayed in Firethorn Cottage and for our second trip we brought family from Germany with us. We had a perfect stay the first time around and an even better stay the second time. The reserve is quiet and being from Gauteng, we felt very safe. The cottage was very clean, well maintained and the bedding is so comfortable. The Cottages are close to the most popular tourist attractions including Kruger National Park. Thank you for letting us have a very safe and relaxing week long holiday! We will return for a third visit soonStayed March 2016, traveled with family -Bianca J

My Boyfriend and I had a peaceful and relaxing week at the Fire Thorn cottage, the place was neat and beautiful with a lovely restaurant area. We have no regrets whatsoever, perfect place for a retreat with friends, family and colleagues or just for a couple wanting a peaceful home away from home. We will be coming back again.Stayed February 2016, travelled as a couple– Dineo

Spent 2 nights at fire thorn cottage
Had a really lovely time.The cottage was so comfortable.We’ll laid out And with all the comforts of home.The kids loved the pool.Even though it was chilly they swam in it on both days.Enjoyed the ferry ride.Stayed January 2016, travelled with family-Amina

My wife, 3 daughters and myself spent 3 nights at the cottage and had a great relaxing stay. The location is virtually half way between Hazyview and Whiteriver and approx 20 mins to each town. The cottage had everything you needed. It had plenty of room for the 5 of us with 3 good sized bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. The balcony and small plunge pool were great. The only downside was that the alarm wasn’t working and worried us slightly when leaving our belongings in the cottage when going out. Other than that I really couldn’t fault the place.Stayed December 2015, travelled with family-Anthony C

We had a wonderful time at Fire Thorn. The cottage was well stocked and everything you would need was there. Beds and linen were comfortable and spotlessly clean. When we wanted to use the pool we rang maintenance and they sent someone immediately to clean the pool and switch on the pump and cleaner. The view is beautiful.Fire Thorn cottage is value for money and we will definitely be coming again. Sandra Maddison and friends. Stayed November 2015, travelled with friends-Sandra M

If you need time off from the rat race – this is the place to be. It is quiet and tranquil. Facilities are great and the view is stunning. The pool and braai facilities are spot on and if you like a spot of fishing that is there too. Stayed September 2015, travelled with family-Nolan P

We had a lovely stay at Fire Thorn Cottage.The location is beautiful. The owner was very accommodating and it was really good value for money.The only issue was there did not seem to be a clear walk way to the dam. The path we found cut through other properties which is an irritation to the other guests. Stayed September 2015, travelled with family-Bernadette

Stunning accommodation – only disadvantage was that the third bedroom had to use the bathroom facilities attached to one of the two other bedrooms. Had cold weather the last two days of our stay and the indoor fireplace was very welcome. Stayed September 2015, travelled with family-Kathryn

What a wonderful find! Spent a few days at the cottage. It is the most beautiful setting and we had a wonderful relaxing time. Thanks so much. We will definitely be going there again. Easy access to the Kruger.
Stayed August 2015, travelled with family-Louise W

We found the view and facilities were top notch. My family from over seas was blown away. Also since the pricing is so reasonable we will definitely be visiting again on our next family holiday. With the location being so close to the kruger park and other activities you will never be bored.– Amy W

We were impressed with the accommodation. A photo can be deceiving but Sycamore cottage is exactly as it is advertised on the internet. The beds were comfortable and the cottage is clean and comfortable. The view is absolutely stunning. I can highly recommend Sycamore cottage not only was it value for money but you got what was advertised.– Desiree P

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for the best experience and hospitality at such a beautiful and breath taking location. South Africa is indeed a beautiful country.  Fire thorn is indeed a very beautiful place and the hospitality and service of your people is the cherry on top. My friends can’t stop ranting and raving because we never knew such places exist. THANK YOU VERY MUCH, see you again next year.-Mpati M

Submit your review

What our guests have to say

We found the view and facilities were top notch. My family from over seas was blown away. Also since the pricing is so reasonable we will definitely be visiting again on our next family holiday. With the location being so close to the kruger park and other activities you will never be bored.
– Amy W
We were impressed with the accommodation. A photo can be deceiving but Sycamore cottage is exactly as it is advertised on the internet. The beds were comfortable and the cottage is clean and comfortable. The view is absolutely stunning. I can highly recommend Sycamore cottage not only was it value for money but you got what was advertised.
– Desiree P

view more

Things to do

• Abseiling
• Bridge swing
• Caving by candlelight
• Elephant back safari’s
• Endangered wildlife tours
• Fishing
• Gecko river adventures
• Golf
• Healh spa’s
• Hiking
• Horse trails and pony rides
• Hot air ballooning
• Kloofing / canyoneering
• Microlight flights
• Mountain bike tails
• Mountain boarding
• Night safari’s
• Paintball
• Quad bike trails
• River rafting
• Sunset safari’s
• White water tubing
• Zipline
….and much more!

view more

Fire Thorn Second Bedroom
Fire Thorn Lounge
Fire Thorn Outside 1
Sycamore Main Bedroom
Sycamore View From Veranda
Sycamore Outside 5
Sycamore Main Bedroom Bathroom En Suite
Stunning Views
Fire Thorn Second Bedroom Bathroom On Suite